July 15, 2018
MICHIGAN MOTORCYCLE ACCIDENT LAWS
Michigan motorcycle accident laws are complex in nature. If you are hit by someone in a motorcycle accident, you can sue that person for your pain suffering. The laws for a motorcycle accident is little different than the auto car accident. In the case of a motorcycle accident, you can sue the responsible party if you have suffered a serious impairment of an important body function, permanent and serious disfigurement or death. You can also claim compensation for your pain and suffering or any loss of consortium. A Michigan auto accident lawyer at Elia & Ponto can help guide you through the process of filing a claim.
In the Michigan State you need to prove that you are not more than 50% responsible for the motorcycle accident. If you are more than 50% responsible for the accident then you cannot claim for your pain and suffering.
Michigan No-Fault Benefits for Motorcycle Accident
If you are driving a motorcycle and collided with a car or truck then you can receive No-Fault Benefits (i.e. replacement services, medical mileage, payment of medical bills, and attendance care). You must need to collide with a motor vehicle, if you collide with a tree or light pole then you cannot get benefits of the No-Fault law. The No-Fault benefits will be paid as per the following rules of priority:
- Registrant or insurer of the Motor Vehicle involved in the Accident.
- The insurer of the operator of the motorcycle involved in the Accident.
- Motor Vehicle insurer of the operator of the motorcycle involved in the motorcycle accident.
- The registrant of the motorcycle or Motor Vehicle insurer of the Owner involved in the Motorcycle Accident.
- Motor vehicle insurer of the owner of the Motor vehicle of resident relative to the victim in the Motorcycle Accident.
- The resident relative of the injured driver, motorcyclist, or passenger.
- Assigned Claims Facility.
Moreover, if you do not have the required insurance on your motorcycle then you cannot get no-fault benefits under Michigan law.
The statute of Limitations for Michigan Motorcycle Accident
The statute of limitation for the Michigan motorcycle accident is 1 year. It means you have to claim for no-fault benefits within the 1 year of the accident. If you are suing the responsible driver then the statute of limitation is three years which you means you can sue the responsible driver within the 3 years of the accident (unless you’re a member of the military, mentally incompetent, or a minor). Michigan motorcycle accident laws are complex in nature, a leading Michigan auto accident lawyer at Elia & Ponto can make this process much easier to understand.
Motorcycle Damage after a Michigan Motorcycle Accident
If you have physical damages to your motorcycle then you cannot sue the responsible party for this. You need to carry collision insurance in order to claim for the physical damages to your motorcycle. A Detroit auto accident lawyer at Elia & Ponto can be very helpful to those involved in a Michigan motorcycle accident, they are able to help you understand Michigan motorcycle accident laws.
Michigan Motorcycle Licensing
In order to operate a motorcycle in the State of Michigan, you need a valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement. If you are operating a motorcycle without an endorsement can result in a fine of up to a $300.
The steps to get your “CY” endorsement are as follows:
- Go to a secretary of State office to take the written knowledge and the vision tests.
- Complete a successful certified motorcycle safety course or pass a skills test from the rider skills testing organization.
- Present your completion certificate at a Secretary of State office.