April 26, 2022
When to Contact a Lawyer After a Car Accident
Car accidents can be scary, particularly if you’ve experienced significant damage to your vehicle, other personal items, or even yourself. You may be wondering what options are available to you outside of insurance to help you cover your losses. That’s where a personal injury attorney can help.
But let’s backtrack for just a moment.
You’ve just been in an auto accident—what do you do first?
- Stop and pull the car over. If at all possible, get to the side of the road or pull as far away from traffic as you safely can. Many secondary accidents can occur if vehicles are left in the middle of the road.
- Call the police. Unless the crash was an extremely mild one and both drivers agree to walk away without reporting it, you need to file an official police report in order to submit to your insurance company for repairs.
- File a claim with your insurance company. Once you’ve been checked out and medically cleared, you’ll want to file a claim as quickly as possible. Many insurance companies require a claim to be submitted in the first 24 hours.
- Keep all records. Make sure to keep copies of all receipts, your original claim, the police report, and any other additional documentation of the accident you might have.
- Contact an expert lawyer. For a more thorough understanding of your options, an injury attorney can help guide you through the proper steps needed to resolve your claim.
You may also click the link to download our free Elia & Ponto Car Accident Checklist. This checklist will ensure that you collect all of the necessary information required for your accident claim.
Common Questions About Car Accidents in Michigan
What information do police know from your license plate?
Police officers can do more than just see who owns the car when they scan a license plate. They can determine who the plate is legally registered to, if it is expired, and—most importantly—whether or not the registered vehicle is insured. In the state of Michigan, it is illegal to drive without auto insurance. If you choose to do so, there may be little a lawyer can do for you or your case.
What if you are rear-ended or you rear-end someone else’s vehicle?
Figuring out who is at fault after an accident where one or more people have been involved can be tough. Once police determine the at-fault driver, this is mostly likely the individual (and by extension, their insurance company) who will be responsible for the compensation. If you are confused about who is at fault, or if you are being accused of being the at-fault driver, contact a lawyer right away to review your case.
What if I hit a pedestrian?
Medical expenses can be a huge cost. If damages and/or medical bills exceed the maximum provided by your insurance, you may be responsible for paying the remaining balance. It is crucial that you consult a lawyer who can guide you on the best approach to take with your case.
What is a “mini tort” and who should file one?
A ‘mini tort’ claim occurs when the non-fault driver in an accident sues the at-fault driver in order to claim up to $1,000 more in damages. This typically occurs if and when the non-fault driver’s insurance does not cover the full cost of damages, medical bills, etc.
In an Auto Accident? Contact a Lawyer Right Away.
Whether you or a loved one has been involved in a car accident, the attorneys at Elia & Ponto PLLC are here to help. Our law firm is available 24/7 with expert lawyers with years of experience. We’ve handled thousands of personal injury and auto accident cases with a 99% success rate. Call us today for a free consultation!